Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Requests

Can someone please make a MultiDash Widget?

msyeed

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 - 9:24 pm    Post subject: Can someone please make a MultiDash Widget? Reply with quote

Okay, total newbie post and I may be talking out of the wrong hole, but seeing as how there are management widgets and launcher widgets, couldn't someone make a MultiDash Widget?

A sort of enhanced launcher, what I'm picturing is a widget that would look like a tab -- you'd customize which side of the screen it protrudes from -- that you could name. Whenever a given instance of the widget was active, any widgets you create would "belong" to it and toggle on and off with the tab itself.

Let's say you name a MultiDash tab, "Games." You'd activate the tab, then open a set of game widgets and position them as you like. Next, you'd click the tab for "Games" again and all the game widgets would hide. Clicking it a third time would make all these widgets re-appear, ideally complete with position and last known state, as if they'd never disappeared.

And you could repeat the process with other subcategories, like "Search," "Info," "Work," "Fun," "Controls," "System," whatever. This way, you could quickly and easily toggle between different sets of like-themed widgets.

If maintaining widget status is a problem (I've never programmed one of these things) you could just re-position them completely outside the window to "hide" them. It may not save you any processor overhead to turn off a set, but for us small-screened laptop users, this would still be a blessing.

And even if you can't keep the status, being able to launch and kill widgets in groups would be fantastic.