Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Design

Need Help With RoundRects

cerberus

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 - 5:24 am    Post subject: Need Help With RoundRects Reply with quote

RoundRects...

Well here is a fascinating and famous story.

http://www.folklore.org/StoryView.py?story=Round_Rects_Are_Everywhere.txt

Really touches the heart... anyway I am not really good with graphics, of course I can -generate- one just fine.. if it's just a plain old line.. I am talking about solid objects where we want to make the edges real nice.. shading, gradients.. reflectons, lighting...Like on like Apple's Weather Widget.. or any widget except the one I am working on.... Now of course I could go out and buy some software.. take a look at the Birthstone Widget.. no way that was done by hand.. but anyway I need a re-touch artist now, not an algorithm, next time I'll use one.. actually it's not too late I suppose... This widget would have been released already but the corners look ratty and I have a few other compositing issues...

When I am writing code.. I think I can do anything..(of course I can't.. but I always solve my programming issues... ) Not so with graphics. I need help because I don't have a strategy to solve this now... Every experiment I try looks worse than before, the last one I did was smooooooth but then it looked like the edges were bent back some... hhhhhhhhhhhhh. So I give up.. I can't control it one pixel at a time. What to do ?

cerberus
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Widgets
andrethegiant

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 - 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote