Recent Widgets


Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners


iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Development

gadget bar

Author Message
jackinloadup



Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 18

Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 - 9:07 am    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

how do u get the gadgets to go in ur bar... b/c i can get some of the one's from this site to but never my own
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Widgets
esXXI



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 46
Location: United Kingdom (Great Britain)

Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 - 9:07 am    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

I may be wrong, but I think you have to include an Info.plist file in your gadget with the details (such as the name, etc).

Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Widgets
Chris



Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 344
Location: Durham, UK

Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 - 9:07 am    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

Hmm... I should've checked last time I was logged into Tiger. Double clicking a gadget will open it on the dashboard, and it should be in the bar straight away. For it to stay there though, you have to put the gadget in /Library/Gadgets or ~/Library/Gadgets (I think).

I'll have to check if that's right when I go back into Tiger at some point.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Widgets
esXXI



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 46
Location: United Kingdom (Great Britain)

Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 - 9:07 am    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

@Chris; Aye. If you don't move the Gadget to where you said (/Library/Gadgets) then it won't appear on next boot/log in, even if you haven't moved or deleted it.

Tiger will probably auto-copy opened Gadgets into that folder (and require people to "trash" gadgets on the Dashboard to get rid of them).
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Widgets
vmirce



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Location: Mars

Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 - 9:07 am    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

I agree, I imagine the final release of Tiger to treat gadgets in a similar way to screensavers under Panther. (double click brings up a dialog asking to install screensaver for all users, or just the single user)
View user's profile Send private message Widgets
jackinloadup



Joined: 02 Feb 2005
Posts: 18

Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 - 9:07 am    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

yeah... that isnt working... i dont have a default image.. could that be it?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Widgets
Walker



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 44
Location: Netherlands

Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 - 9:07 am    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

Got the same problem. Info.plist, default images, everything is there but it is not being added to the bar.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Widgets
Walker



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 44
Location: Netherlands

Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 - 9:07 am    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

Once I moved my new gadget out of my project folder to the folder with other sample gadgets it worked. Don't understand why.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Widgets
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.

 
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group