Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Development

Extracing Info from Web Pages - XQuery?

wuf810

Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 - 2:24 pm    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm new to Dahsboard but have developed a number of Sherlock 2 channels. Much like Dashboard in its implementation, Sherlock 2 also uses Javascript for a lot of the coding. However its other major language is XQuery (which itself uses XPath) and as such extracting "parts" of an HTML pages through elements/nodes etc is very simple.

My question is how can this be achieved with Dashboard? If it involves writing a plug-in I'm stuffed as I've no idea how to go about this. Can it be done natively in javascript or is there another way to extract certain info from a web page...

Any ideas or suggestion gratefully accepted.

Thanks, Michael.
wuf810

Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 - 2:24 pm    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

I of course meant Sherlock 3. However my question still remains...
Z

You probably know this already, but it would depend on whether the pages you are talking about provide web services, for instance providing raw data in XML, or an RSS feed.

If the page does not, your next resort would be to 'scrape' the HTML for useful information. This can work well, but relies on the page layout staying consistent, and is slower than simply getting the data from a feed. Were there any specific sites you had in mind?
Widgets
wuf810

Z. No unfortunately no web service, no XML and often the layout changes. I've decided to use the DOM model to parse the page instead. Not as easy or elegant as XPath but at least its a solution.

Thanks for the response.

Regards, Michael.
wuf810