Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Testing

HELP! RSS widget can't connect to the right blog entry

Thomasdetlefsen

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 - 4:37 am    Post subject: HELP! RSS widget can't connect to the right blog entry Reply with quote

Hello Guys,

I have been making an RSS widget for the band Barenaked Ladies blog. I have used the widget program Wcode from widgetfactor.com. But I have problems getting the widget to connect to the right blog entry, when I click on a headline in the widget. As I have NO experience with javascript or anything, I don't really know where the problem lies. All I can tell you is that, when I have clicked a headline, then the url that Safari connects to looks like this:

http://www.bnlblog.com/entry.asp?dDate=2/8/2006%09

You can find the widget here if you would like to take at look at it:
http://www.d-magic.dk/media/bnlblog.wdgt.zip

I think that the %09 is the problem, beacuase if I erase that, then it goes straight to the correct entry.

So if anyone can help me identify what %09 stands for, I would really appreciate it!!

Sincerely yours
Thomas Detlefsen
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Widgets
purvisa

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 - 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remove the tab in your code. The %09 is an ASCII value for a tab character, the way %20 is a space (if you create an HTML file with a space in the name and open it in your browser, you will see the %20 where the space would normally be).

Basically, you have one extra character somewhere in it all.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Widgets
Thomasdetlefsen