Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Central

widget.openURL does not work?

Magicj

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2006 - 9:57 pm    Post subject: widget.openURL does not work? Reply with quote

I'm just getting into this widget stuff and I would like to include a link to a web page. All the faq's say to use "widget.openURL." And several widgets I have downloade and examined usethis. But it does not work. In my script OR any of the ones I have downloaded such as the oldfaithfull widget or the halifax widget. The links are there, but nothing happens. I thought maybe I may have turned something off. But I have tried this on two different Macs and it just does not work. Any thought?

thanks.
gurth

Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 - 5:27 am    Post subject: Re: widget.openURL does not work? Reply with quote

Have you enabled network access in the Info.plist file for your widget? That is, check that the following lines are in it:
Code:
<key>AllowNetworkAccess</key>
<true/>
Magicj

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 - 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, But what I'm saying is it does not work in ANY widget that I have downloaded and tried.
Magicj

Posted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 - 9:03 am    Post subject: when is a widget not a widget? Reply with quote

I've done a little more digging. It looks like some widgets are working others are not. I've added if (window.widget) {or is it "if(widget), i've see both.) and it appears that for the widgets that do not work, they do not think they are widgets. The code protected by the "if (window.widget) is not being executited. That would explaine why openURL is not working. But now I'm wondering why these widgets do not "know" they are widgets. Any ideas??

thanks
jtbandes