Recent Widgets


Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners


iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Central

Widget Universal Binary, yes or now

Author Message
keith28



Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 14

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 - 10:02 am    Post subject: Widget Universal Binary, yes or now Reply with quote

How can you tell the difference if a widget you create is a universal binary or not?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
gandreas



Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 114

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 - 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you include any "widgetplugin" (or web "plugin") you need to make sure that the code you write is compiled universal in order for it to be universal. (You can double check by burrowing through the plugin package into the "Contents/MacOS" folder an get info on the executable file there, which will say if it is universal or not).

If you don't, it's automatically universal.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
keith28



Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 14

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 - 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

widgets don't have an app dile o check.
I have .js file, .html file, .plist file

which one do I check?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
Powermacguy



Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 122

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 - 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

keith28 wrote:
widgets don't have an app dile o check.
I have .js file, .html file, .plist file

which one do I check?



A universal binary is only for plugins because the WebKit is native for intel as well so if you have only files like .css,.html,.js those are rendered on the machine
View user's profile Send private message Widgets
keith28



Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 14

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 - 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So when I submit it to the widget sites it asked if it is universal binary or not, what to I put?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
Powermacguy



Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 122

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 - 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If there is no plugin then yes, otherwise compile the plugin. But for you its universal
View user's profile Send private message Widgets
keith28



Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 14

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 - 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
gandreas



Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 114

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 - 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Powermacguy wrote:
If there is no plugin then yes, otherwise compile the plugin. But for you its universal


And if you don't have an Intel based machine to test on, do not compile the plugin as universal (because if there are problems, then the Widget is completely unusable to people with Intel machines, whereas they can still run the PPC only version with Rosetta).
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
keith28



Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 14

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 - 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your information.
It has been very helpful.

I do not have an Intel mac to test it on.
Does anyone on here have one?

If you dont mind, i would like to email you the widget I created.
I appreciate you letting me know if it works.

Thanks

Keith
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
islayer



Joined: 21 Apr 2005
Posts: 66

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 - 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gandreas wrote:
whereas they can still run the PPC only version with Rosetta).


Untrue
widget plugins must be universal to run on intel macs.
widgets dont have access to rosetta
_________________
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
gandreas



Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 114

Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 - 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

islayer wrote:
gandreas wrote:
whereas they can still run the PPC only version with Rosetta).


Untrue
widget plugins must be universal to run on intel macs.
widgets dont have access to rosetta


This is not true - As I type this, I'm running widgets with PPC plugins on my MacBookPro (I was curious to see what would happen - there's a noticeable delay starting up, but they do work). There's even a key in the com.apple.dashboard prefs that indicates which Widgets are run with Rosetta.

Note that you can't "mix and match" plugins, so if you've got a WebKit plugin and a widgetplugin, they need to both contain the same architectures.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.

 
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group