Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Central

Widgets are widgets?

garmp

Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 - 4:54 pm    Post subject: Widgets are widgets? Reply with quote

I am totally new to Tiger and the entire widget concept. Got all kinds of excited with my first experience with a widget and loved them. I found many widgets available, but many were of a "Konfabulator" vatiety, (what ever that is). They could do some really neat things, but wouldn't disappear linke the "dashboard" variety. (Hope I'm using the right terms).

My question is: Is there any way to convert the "Konfabulator" eidgets to function (disappear) like the dashboard type?

Next question, being a dumby that I am, How can I get simplified information about creating my own?

Thank you very much.

garmp
galendw

Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 - 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi garmp,

First, I should clarify the difference between widgets. There are two types of widgets (at least, that we're concerned about), those for Yahoo!'s Widget Engine (formerly Konfabulator), and those for Mac OS X Tiger's Dashboard. This site deals entirely with widgets for Dashboard.

Widget Engine does have a functionality that is similar to Dashboard where it can make widgets disappear. I would consult the documentation for more information on that one.

As for creating your own widgets, if you want to create a Widget Engine widget, you can visit the Yahoo! Widgets Workshop.

If you want to make a Dashboard widget, check out this site's Links page for some good places to get started. I personally recommend checking out Apple's "Developing Dashboard Widgets Overview" as a good place to get started.

Posted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 - 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote