Recent Widgets


Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners


iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Development

Calling Java from a Widget

Author Message
alihelmy



Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Egypt

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 - 3:38 pm    Post subject: Calling Java from a Widget Reply with quote

Hey mates,

Is there any possible way i can make a widget that would call Java (not js) APIs?

for example, if I have a Java class called Echoer:
Code:
public class Echoer{

      public static void echoThis(String word){
                System.out.println(word);
      }
}


is it possible at all to call this class from within the widget?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
lando



Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 7

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 - 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A widget is essentially a webpage, so you can always use an Applet and call it using LiveConnect.

What are you thinking of doing? You'd be surprised how much modern web techs can accomplish.
View user's profile Send private message Widgets
alihelmy



Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Egypt

Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 - 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, well what i tried doing was creating a simple Hello World applet... i placed this applet in a regular web-page and it worked quite well...

However, i tried adding the same applet to the web-page associated with a new widget i created in dashcode, but all i got was the X that comes up in the applets place when it does not work...
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Widgets
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.

 
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group