Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Development

How to simulatie sliding panels

macpeterr

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 - 4:13 pm    Post subject: How to simulatie sliding panels Reply with quote

I just started a new challenge by giving me the task to develop a widget in dashcode. (so bare with me) Dashcode is a nice tool, although Apple has been a little sloppy in cutting and pasting some snippet code....

I have some javascript experience and familiar with other OO languages and have basic knowledge of hml and css.

Currently i am trying to simulate the opening of a panel after the Widget has been initialized correctly, revealing some gauges and fields. By using the
Appleanimator functions i can animate two boxes so they slide away. What i want is that the boxes do disappear inside a frame and not at the outer lines of the widget.

Maybe i am not to clear so hereby two images of the widget in progress;
"Closed"

"Open"

Wat i am trying to realize is to move the panels behind the grey border of the widget.

Any tips/how to's/tutorials ?

Peter
Osjcag

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 - 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try to build the 'slide-object' in two parts: the part to move upwards, and the part to move downwards (I call them block1 (the block on top) and block2 (the block on the bottom)). Then you can animate in with javascript, like this:
Code:

function slideBlocksOpen(){
  var x = distance to slide;
  for(i=1; i<=x; i+=0.1){
    setTimeout("document.getElementById('block1').style.top = '"+(i*-1)+"px';",i*10);
    setTimeout("document.getElementById('block2').style.top = '"+i+"px';",i*10);
  }
}
I hope this will help you.

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 - 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks,