Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Requests

[+Request+] Wikipedia!!

mattchou

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 - 1:09 pm    Post subject: [+Request+] Wikipedia!! Reply with quote

World's best encyclopedia deserve world's best widget!

Very Happy
islayer

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 - 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im sure many developers have thought about doing one.
if no one else does one i will do one however.
sean

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 - 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just started work on this today. I've been coding php for a while, but I'm new to javascript, so it's coming along slowly. Anyway, I doubt I'll have the time to bring something to the quality we would all like to see by myself, so I'll share the (very limited) beginnings I have.

I'm picturing something similar to Apple's dictionary widget (I'm sure I'm not alone here). I was planning to begin with just returning the content of the first paragraph to the user, and adding a link to the full article at the end, to pop open Safari, or possibly extending the widget to show the entire article content.

Here's a basic function to pull the content from en.wikipedia, and put it into a div:

Code:

function processRequest(search_term) {
    var req;
    req = new XMLHttpRequest();

var url = "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/" + search_term;
    req.open("GET", url ,false);
    req.send(null);

var response = req.responseText;
    var start = response.indexOf("<p>");
    var end = response.indexOf("</p>");
    output = response.substring(start, end);

//stripping out the tags might not be the best idea (no links)
    //but it cleans up the output for now
    var stripped = output.replace(/(<([^>]+)>)/ig,"");