Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Development
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Problem with spaces and foreign characters

Peter321

Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 - 5:46 am    Post subject: Problem with spaces and foreign characters Reply with quote

Hi there,

I'm no programmer, but don't mind modifying html, so I took a shot at modifying Revs Yell.com widget:

http://www.dashboardwidgets.com/showcase/details.php?wid=138

to make it work with the Danish yellow pages.

I got it working, and will change the design to fit more with the danish pages design, but I have run into a problem.

When ever I enter a search term containing danish characters (. , , , , ) or a space (" ") I can't search - nothing happens when I press enter.

You can download it from the showcase here:

http://www.dashboardwidgets.com/showcase/details.php?wid=147

Any suggestion will be more than welcome Very Happy

cheers
Peter
damnman2k

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 - 9:08 am    Post subject: Suggestion for whitespaces Reply with quote

Hi,
i made myself a modified version of the danish yellow pages widget and struck the same problem myself. Haven't figured out the ,, bit yet, but you can replace spaces in the search strings wit '+' to mak it work. It works with my homegrown norwegian phonebook lookup.

its something like:
Code:

searchfield.value.replace(/[\s]/gi, '+')

which will return the string in searchfield with alll the spaces replaced with '+' characters. Now to go headon with our strange nordic characthers...

cheers
Karl G
Peter321

Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 - 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HI Karl