Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Development
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Check for updates code...

prezet

Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 - 5:13 am    Post subject: Check for updates code... Reply with quote

Hi all

Wonder if anyone can point me in the right direction to creating a piece of code that checks for updates to a widget.

The first thing I thought is to do it via XMLhttpRequest to check a txt file on my server which shows the latest version number, and if it differs from the current version installed to alert the user that a new version is available.

I'm not sure if this is the cleanest way of doing it as I've never done this before. I've seen other OSX apps using CURL to check, which is another option, but I'm not sure how to implement it.

Any suggestions appreciated.
zzen

Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 - 7:52 am    Post subject: Re: Check for updates code... Reply with quote

prezet wrote:
The first thing I thought is to do it via XMLhttpRequest
[...]
I'm not sure if this is the cleanest way of doing it

Good idea, nice question, prezet. I haven't thought of doing updates checks, but I think I'll implement them now that you pointed it out.

Even though I haven't done the update checks myself yet, I don't see anything wrong with XMLHttpRequest (be sure to set pragma no-cache as some other poster here warned!).
Code:
widget.system('curl http://my.updates.server/widget-version.txt',null)
is another option, I think both are perfectly OK, so it's rather up to you which one makes you feel more comfortable. Both should work.

I'll post my experience if I have any problems once I get around to implement update checking myself.
prezet

Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 - 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote