Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

Widget Development FAQ (Read this first before posting!)

kingmob

Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 - 10:53 am    Post subject: Widget Development FAQ (Read this first before posting!) Reply with quote

DASHBOARD WIDGETS FAQ

This FAQ answers common questions and offers solutions to much-encountered problems. It was created to minimize the amount of "One problem, 5 threads" situations. If you find a mistake or have an addition, please PM me on the board.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1.0 Introduction to widgeting
1.1 I'm completely new to this whole widget thing - where do I get started?
1.2 Where can I learn JavaScript?
1.3 How do I get beautiful and shiny backgrounds/icons for my widget?
1.4 Are there any guidelines on how a widget should act, look and feel like?
1.5 What files must be in a widget?
1.6 What is an Info.plist?
1.7 I created all the needed files, now how do I bundle my widget?

2.0 Programming issues
2.1 How do I open a link in a browser window from a widget?
2.2 I tried to run a program with widget.system(), but it didn't work!
2.3 How do I parse an HTML or XML document from a widget?
2.4 How do I debug a widget?
2.5 How do I call an AppleScript from a widget?
2.6 How can I make my widget do something when it appears or disappears?
2.7 How do I get a "Done" button like the one on the backside of Apple's widgets?
2.8 How can I make my widget check for updates?
2.9 How can I create a Preferences backside for my widget?
2.10 How do I add custom fonts to my widget?

3.0 Problems
3.1 My widget simply doesn't work! What now?
3.2 Searches via openURL() with one-word terms work, but if I look for two or more words, nothing happens.
3.3 Special characters (umlauts and the like) don't work for XMLHttp or openURL() calls!

4.0 The rest

1.0 Introduction to widgeting

1.1 I'm completely new to this whole widget thing - where do I get started?