Register for DashboardWidgets

Recent Forums Posts

Partners

iCompositions

MacDesktops.net

RSS Showcase
RSS Comments
RSS Forums

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Posted in: Widget Development

Gadget Creation Question

Solsonic

Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 - 9:53 pm    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

Hello everyone,
I have created a konfabulator widget which allows you to see your Network IP as well as your External IP. I would like to make it work w/ Dashboard.The code to retrieve the IP's is a runCommand function for Unix, but its written in JS. I fiddled around a bit, trying to insert my code into the html document, but no luck my friends. I guess my question is how do I get it to Print the results of the command onto my UI. I'm a novice at programming, so I apalogise if this is a lame question. Any help would be awsome.

Steveo
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Widgets
The Inn Keeper

Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 - 9:53 pm    Post subject: Imported from The Dashboader Reply with quote

Hi there Steveo - you said that you used the 'runCommand' function for Unix. And then you state that it is written in Javascript.

I could be wrong here, but I wasn't aware there was a runCommand javascript function. But if it is a javascript function, then it should work just fine in a gadget.

I think this would be a very useful gadget, so I hope you find the answer you are looking for!

PS: A more helpful subject may have gotten more posts Wink
Madmandan

I did a quick Google search for you, and came up with this javascript to report an IP:

<script language="JavaScript"><!--
if (navigator.appName=='Netscape' && navigator.javaEnabled()) {
hn = java.net.InetAddress.getLocalHost().getHostName();
ha = java.net.InetAddress.getLocalHost().getHostAddress();
document.write('HostName: '+ hn + '<br>' + 'HostAddress: '+ ha );
}